Coraline by Stephin Merritt and David Greenspan

Stephin Merritt

Stephin Merritt releases albums under the band names the Magnetic Fields, the 6ths, the Gothic Archies, and Future Bible Heroes. Merritt has written and recorded ten Magnetic Fields albums, including his popular 1999 album, 69 Love Songs. The song "The Book of Love," was covered by Peter Gabriel and has become an unlikely wedding favorite. Merritt composed original music and lyrics for several music theater pieces, including three plays with director Chen Shi-Zheng. He received an Obie Award for his off-Broadway production of Coraline. Merritt scored the academy award nominated film "Pieces of April" (dir. Peter Hedges). In 2012, Merritt released a the Magnetic Fields album, Love at the Bottom of the Sea, and in 2013 he released a Future Bible Heroes album, Partygoing, both on Merge Records. Currently Merritt continues to write music for theater, television, and film, as well as album projects. Additional information on Stephin Merritt can be found at

David Greenspan

David Greenspan’s plays include JackThe Home Show Pieces2 Samuel 11, Etc.Dead MotherShe Stoops to ComedyGo Back to Where You AreThe ArgumentJonas and Coraline with Stephin Merritt. These have been produced most notably by the Public Theater, Playwrights Horizons, The Foundry, Target Margin and Transport Group. Anthologies of his plays are published by University of Michigan and NoPassport. Acting credits include premieres by David Adjmi, Sarah Ruhl, Adam Rapp, William Hoffman, Terrence McNally, David Grimm, Kathleen Tolan, Harry Kondoleon, Richard Foreman, Mac Wellman, Jeff Jones, solo renditions of Barry Conners’ The Patsy and Gertrude Stein’s lecture, Plays. Guggenheim, Lortel and Fox fellowships, Alpert Award and five Obies.